History of Safe Harbor Christian Counseling

Safe Harbor Christian Counseling began in January of 1996 in Bel Air, Maryland with Erik Sundquist who had a desire to provide Christian-based, clinically-sound counseling to clients. A hallmark of the practice from the beginning was the belief that redemptive relationships integrated with strong clinical foundations provide the necessary ingredients for positive change. Another foundational piece of the framework is the reality that God's presence can give strength to the weary which can empower them to pursue mental health rigorously.

By 1998, Safe Harbor began to grow as more counselors joined Erik in walking with clients as they did significant work related to issues in their lives. More and more counselors, churches, and clients joined together as Safe Harbor Christian Counseling began to expand its impact.

At the same time, the infrastructure needed to support this work was strengthened as God provided unbelievably committed office staff. Many people all over the Mid-Atlantic region have been impacted by the efforts of these behind-the-scenes staff who provide administrative support.

With the growth of the practice has come the ability to broaden the services offered. Currently, Safe Harbor has trained counselors able to deal extensively with issues facing adults, children, adolescents, couples, and families. We also provide an array of coaching and consulting services for those who desire growth in their career path, relationships, and/or leadership skills. Workshops and staff training related to management, leadership, and team cohesion is available.

Safe Harbor currently has many locations throughout Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, Pennsylvania, North Carolina, and Georgia. See a list of all of our counseling locations. To make an appointment, either call 1-800-305-2089 or schedule a counseling appointment online.

Safe Harbor Christian Counseling's offices serve clients in Anne Arundel, Baltimore, Carroll, Cecil, Charles, Frederick, Harford, Howard, Montgomery, Prince George's, and St. Mary's counties in Maryland; New Castle County in Delaware; Chester, Delaware, Adams, Franklin, Cumberland, Lancaster, York, and Dauphin counties in Pennsylvania; Prince William, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Mecklenburg counties, and Norfolk in Virginia; Fairfield and New Haven counties in Connecticut; New Jersey; Atlanta, Georgia; and North Carolina.

Some of the towns that this includes are: Alexandria, Annapolis, Arnold, Asheville, Baltimore City, Bel Air, Bowie, Brandywine, Camp Hill, Carlisle, Catonsville, Chambersburg, Clinton, College Park, Columbia, Dundalk, Ellicott City, Elkton, Fairfax, Fairfield, Frederick, Fulton, Glen Burnie, Harrisburg, Lanham, Laurel, Lutherville, Manassas, Mechanicsburg, Millersville, Newark, Norfolk, North East, Owings Mills, Oxon Hill, Palmyra, Pasadena, Perry Hall, Reisterstown, Rosedale, Severn, Severna Park, Shrewsbury, Silver Spring, Springfield, Sterling, Temple Hills, Timonium, Towson, Upper Marlboro, Vienna, Waldorf, Westminster, White Marsh, Wilmington, Woodbridge, and York.